Love Letter to Future Me…

I just started following Happy Black Woman’s 31 Day’s to Reset Your Life Series. There are 31 days of exercises meant to help you  focus and evaluate your goals in an effort to help you live a better life in 2012 and beyond. Today’s exercise really struck a chord with me, as it allowed participants to write love letters to themselves via FutureMe.org. With this site, you can send yourself a letter to anytime in the future. While beginning with a letter set to be delivered in 30 days, I added one for my 30th birthday and for one five years from now.

In thinking about what I want to say to Future Racheal, I thought about things that I’m working on now, habits I don’t want to have in the future, and things I better be doing in the future. It makes me kind of anxious to think that some time five years from now, I’ll be getting an email from myself, checking on me to make sure I’ve been making the right choices. I’m curious to find out how my writing will have developed, and how many publishing credits to my name?

In realizing that I don’t want to disappoint my future self, it dawned on me that I shouldn’t want to disappoint today’s me. This means I’ve got to get to the business of making good choices NOW. Otherwise, I’m gonna have nobody to blame if when that email comes, I’m no closer to achieving my dreams than I am today.

If you wrote a letter to your future self, what would you write? Leave a comment and tell me about it!

Comments

  1. I remember using that site a while back. At this time, I don’t even remember what I wrote to myself, but I guess I will find out soon enough! I think right now what I would want to write would just be encouragement. I always need that and I think it would come to me at the appropriate time.

  2. What a thought. Now you’ve got me wanting to send a letter to my future self, so I better start thinking about what I’d say to me.

    Your blog is wonderful! I found you after you signed up for the Insecure Writers Group over at Alex’s blog!

  3. Hi. I am following you at the sugesstion ofNicole Pyles. My name is Virginia Llorca and my blog is FINE WHINE. http://www.dittymac.blogspot.com

  4. Oh I love this idea. Lately, I’ve been just surviving. Maybe I do need to look to the future!

  5. I did this before! It was a lot of fun and it really made me think about my life. I think a new one is in order. 🙂

    Good job!

Leave a Reply

